Currently Watching

Just finished up 7 day Queen. It was such a good drama: plot, characters, romance–everything was on point. I’m extremely satisfied with this drama and highly recommend it to anyone who wants to watch a good sageuk (사극) or historical drama. I’ll probably do a more in-depth review later.

As for the other dramas that I’m watching:

  • Criminal Minds, with Lee Jun Ki and Moon Chae Won

I’m not super into this drama yet. I think Korean remakes of American TV shows tend to fall flat. Although I can’t say for all of them, since I’ve only watched a few remakes. But they never tend to catch my interests. I still have plans to continue the drama though, even if it’s only for Lee Jun Ki.

  • The King Loves, with Im Si Wan, SNSD’s Yoona, and Hong Jong Hyun

I haven’t watched the most recent episodes yet, so I can’t say much about this drama. I don’t know if I’ll continue this drama. It just doesn’t seem interesting, as of now.

I started watching some Chinese dramas while waiting for new episodes to come out. There are 2 that I am really interested in:

  • General and I, with Wallace Chung and Angelababy

It really kept me hooked for the first 13 episodes, but after that, I started losing interest. I may or may not continue the rest of the drama, as I’ve already started skipping ahead and skimmed through some of the later episodes. If I have no other dramas to watch, I think I might continue watching a few more full episodes. I do like the politics in the drama. The love story is a little bit difficult to get into, just because they fall in love so fast, but it seems typical of Chinese dramas to do that. And then they show development later.

  • Lost Love in Times, with Liu ShiShi and William Chan

I hate that I found this drama now, because I have to wait for the episodes with subtitles to come out. This might be what keeps me coming back to the drama though. Like General and I, the main characters fall in love very fast, but I still like it. I’m a sucker for plots where the lovers are separated and eventually find their way towards each other again–especially in this drama with the parallel universe aspect where he forgets her. I can’t wait to see what happens when he falls for her again and then will probably remember her.

Hopefully there will be another round of good Korean dramas soon. I don’t know if this next round will bring anything that I’ll be interested in, but we’ll see in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

